Jubilee Award Winner Announced as James Eaton Experiments with Success!

James Eaton, 18, has been announced as the 2017 winner of the Town Council’s Jubilee Award.

The annual Jubilee Award is presented by the Town Council to an individual, under the age of 20, to recognise the value and outstanding contributions that young people make to the Wetherby community.

James was nominated for the award by his former teachers at Wetherby High School who said that he is “a truly remarkable young man both as a highly promising scientist and in his character as an individual.”

James is a true success story for Wetherby High School. As a consequence of his hard work, talent and diligence James received 3 A* at ‘A’ level and went on to take up his place at Jesus College, Oxford where he is progressing well.

But James also gives credit to his teachers at Wetherby High School and used last night’s prizegiving ceremony to thank them:

“I’d like to thank Wetherby High School for this nomination and Mr Dinsdale [science teacher] for all his help throughout the 4 years he taught me.

It was his idea to aspire to go to Oxford University, even helping me to choose the right institutions to include on my UCAS form.

All my teachers throughout my final 2 years at Wetherby High School were inspirational.”

James was presented with his award by the Mayor of Wetherby, Councillor Norma Harrington and local Police Constable Ben Chamberlain of West Yorkshire Police.

P.C. Chamberlain, who had been part of the panel who considered the 6 nominations, commented: “It has been fantastic to be part of such a positive process which seeks to recognise the best in Wetherby’s young people. Too often teenagers can get a bad press, but tonight we’ve seen that there are some amazing young people within our community.”

The judging panel, comprising of the Mayor of Wetherby (Councillor Norma Harrington), Lieutenant Yvonne West of Wetherby Salvation Army, 2015 Townsperson of the Year (Dean Buckle) and P.C. Ben Chamberlain, considered six nominations.

Other nominees were: Catherine Parascandolo – perseverance and resilience in the face of illness – Jubilee Award runner up. Niamh Hutton - double world kickboxing champion. Bradley Triffit - Wetherby Tennis Club member and under 14 team Captain. Evie Burns - Royal British Legion fundraiser and poppy seller. Jemima and Tabitha Browning - Equal opportunities in sport pioneers.

Recent Posts

See All
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Google+ Icon